2021 Local Authorities Municipal Election

The next municipal election is Monday, October 18, 2021. 


Nomination Day: Friday, January 1, 2021 - Monday, September 20, 2021 

Nomination papers must be filed at the County Office between the hours of 9:00am and 12:00pm in presence of Returning Officer (by appointment only).  Complete the form in Appendix C and bring along with the necessary fees by noon September 20, 2021.  


Advanced Poll:

Wednesday, October 13, 2021                                Saturday, October 16, 2021

3:00pm - 8:00pm                                              10:00am - 2:00pm

Location: TBA                                                   Location: TBA


Election Day: Monday, October 18, 2021

10:00am - 8:00pm at the appropriate polling stations, which will be determined closer to Election Day.


Returning Officer:

Susan Aldrich




2021 Candidate Information

2021 Election Nomination Package

Appendix A - Bylaw 19-01 Council Code of Conduct Bylaw

Appendix A - LE 001 (37th Revision); Councillor Remuneration and Expenses

Appendix B - A Candidate's Guide: Running for Municipal Office in Alberta

Appendix C - FORM 4 - 2021 Nomination Paper and Candidate's Acceptance

Appendix C - FORM 5 - 2021 Candidate Information

(***Instructions for opening Form 4 and Form 5:  The Provincial website causes the Forms to show as an error when opened.  After opening, click on the Download symbol in the top right corner and save the document.  You can then access the form from the saved location.   Documents can also be found on the Provincial website: https://www.alberta.ca/municipal-election-forms.aspx) 

Guidelines for the Installation of Election Signs


Any questions related to the 2021 Election, can be directed to the County of Vermilion River appointed Returning Officer, Susan Aldrich, by phone at 780-808-5648 or email at election@county24.com.




To be eligible to vote in the 2021 Municipal Election you must be:

  • at least 18 years of age;
  • a Canadian citizen, and
  • a resident in Alberta for the 6 consecutive months immediately preceding election day and the person's place of residence is located in the division on election day (Excerpt from Local Authority Election Act, Sec. 47)

In order to vote, you must produce one piece of identification for inspection.  Acceptable forms of I.D. are:

  • Government-issued I.D. which contains a photograph of the elector and their address  (preferred).  Passports are not accepted. OR:
  • Other document clearly stating the name and address or land location of the elector

Voter Identification Needs


AUMA Election Supports Hub


Related Links